NSSA - Southwest Schedule - College
NSSA - National Scholastic Surfing Association

The National Scholastic Surfing Association (NSSA) is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to encourage and assist its members in their interest to learn and develop the fundamentals and skills of surfing competition while competing in structured and quality events. The NSSA promotes the qualities of discipline and competitive excellence while supporting the merits of academic achievement to young surfers. The NSSA strives to provide a fun surfing experience for all of its members.

The NSSA is one of the few national youth sports organizations that require its participants to maintain academic standards in order to compete. Since 1978, the NSSA program philosophy has been that athletics and scholastics go hand in hand. More than 80 NSSA events are run nationwide that culminate with the annual National Championships which is regarded as the highest profile youth surfing event in America.

Southwest Schedule - College


1 October 29-30 San Diego Blacks
2 November 12-13 Cardiff by the Sea Seaside Reef
3 January 28-29 Huntington Beach 9th St
4 Feb 5 Ventura C St.
State Champonships March 3-5 Cardiff by the Sea Seaside Reef



National Interscholastic College
June 17-19 
Dana Point Salt Creek

The NSSA Southwest Conference services Southern California. The Southwest Conference regional office operates out of the NSSA National Office which is located in Huntington Beach. The conference conducts events from Santa Barbara to San Diego. The Southwest Conference is the largest membership conference in the NSSA. The Southwest Conference competition program is regarded by the surfing industry, surfing publications, etc., as the highest level of surfing competition in the western United States. Competitive membership in this conference is approximately 1000 members. Because of the level of competition and the high media exposure, competitors come from the entire state of California to compete in the Southwest Conference events. The Southwest Conference runs three separate competition formats each season. They are as follows:

  • Open Season is a ten event schedule running from September to June.
  • Explorer Season is a ten event schedule running from September to June.
  • College Team Season is a  four event schedule.